They love him down in Houston, Texas…yeah! yeah! yeah! (And that can't be bad!)

It’s Never Courageous to Do the Right Thing – Remarks Made by Me at the Harris County LULAC Breakfast, July 21, 2012

These were my prepared remarks to the LULAC chorizo and menudo breakfast held at the Gulfgate Doneraki’s this past Saturday.  I composed this speech twenty-five minutes before I gave it.  I hope y’all like it.  DON LARGE.

“IT’S NEVER COURAGEOUS TO DO THE RIGHT THING”

Gracias a Uds. para tener la oportunidad para hablar aqui.

My name is Don Large.  I am proudly seeking the Democratic nomination for Harris County Judge in 2014.

As Speaker Tip O’Neil famously said, “All politics is local.”  For me, all politics is personal.  So, let me tell you who I am because that will tell you what I stand for.

Although my parents were both born in Brooklyn, New York, I was born in St. Luke’s right here in the Medical Center here in Houston, Texas in 1975.  I have lived in Harris County all my life, growing up in the Aldine area.

Nineteen years ago, I was the valedictorian of Aldine MacArthur High School.  I am a proud double degree holder from the University of Houston, earning a BA in Sociology, minors Spanish/Political Science in 1997, and a JD in 2000.  I was a criminal defense lawyer practicing in southeast Texas for six years.  My Dad was a proud city worker for 31 years, retiring in 2005.  He is now an Aldine school bus driver, as I was for four years.

My beloved mother, Lynn, was a secretary in the toy business in NY in the late 1960s and early 1970s.  She was going to write a memoir – TOYS AND OTHER NOVELTIES – I want my Mad Men residuals.  My mom’s side was Romanian, Dad’s was Russian.  All Jewish.  And, in November 2003, in the hospital where I was born, I watched my Mom slip away to heaven.

I have been active politically for twenty years, most of those as a Republican.  I ran for County Attorney in 2002, HD 140 in 2004, and against Jared Woodfill for Harris County GOP Chair in 2010.  I fought the good fight.

This May, I switched parties, early voting on May 14th.  Why?  Three reasons.  First, I had a stroke November 24th of last year.  I was in a coma for 27 days.  My dad was getting ready to put me in a hospice.  Then, on December 20, I shocked everybody by waking up.  My first question was: what were the runoff results?  150K in medical expenses later, I looked at the Affordable Care Act differently. Second, there were Teavangelicals who attacked House Speaker Straus for being insufficiently Christian – well, like me, we’re Jewish.  That really offended me.

I was going to switch on my 37th birthday on May 30.  But, the President made his stand on marriage equality on May 9th.  I switched parties five days later.  As I’ve told people around the county, “I voted Democrat…and all my sins washed away.”

There will be time in the next 30 months to discuss my agenda for County Judge.  Today is not that day.  I thank you all, the hard working activists of LULAC, for allowing me to speak today.  G-d bless Harris County, G-d bless Texas, and G-d bless the United States.

Leave a Reply

